Our Society Awards

Winner of the 2013 Reuben Gold Thwaites Trophy

The De Pere Historical Society is proud to announce that we have been chosen by the Wisconsin State Historical Society as the 2013 recipient of the Reuben Gold Thwaites trophy. This honor is bestowed upon one historical society in Wisconsin each year for outstanding achievements in sharing and preserving local history. Many thanks to the numerous individuals who contributed their time and efforts towards this achievement over the years as we have come a long way from the ice cream socials of the 1970s. It was very fitting that we were presented the award September 18th, 2013, the night of one of our photo shows.

Garden of Merit – 2008

The De Pere Area of Commerce and the Beautification Committee chose White Pillars Museum for their 2008 Garden of Merit Award. Volunteer gardeners Lee Meyer and Mae Kocha were joined by De Pere Historical Society representatives Fran Dimmer, Laurel Town, and Mary Kay Milquet, in accepting the award from Mayor Mike Walsh at a ceremony held during the City of De Pere Common Council Meeting, September 16, 2008.

“Reuben Gold Thwaites visited De Pere in September of 1899.
Here he is standing atop the monument commemorating the Mission of Saint Francis Xavier.
He is triumphantly holding the Perrot Monstrance that was given to Jesuit Missionaries of De Pere in 1686.”